Board of Directors

Home » About » Board of Directors


President: Mary Francis is a retired educator and former NPR Commentator for KGOU/KROU radio. She holds a BFA in Sculpture, an M Ed in Reading and a Reading Specialist Certification from the University of Oklahoma. She spent ten years in small Alaskan villages, two years on the Navajo Reservation and currently resides in Norman, OK. She filed an FCC application for a radio frequency in Oct. of 2007 with the intent of starting a Community Radio Station which focused on local issues, news and music. She has served on the Enforcement Authority, League of Women Voter of Norman Steering Committee, Common Cause Oklahoma Board of Directors, Freedom of Information Oklahoma, and several other civic organizations.

Vice-President –

Secretary:  Kirk Fredrickson

Treasurer: Kurt Bachmann teaches physics at the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics in Oklahoma City. He holds a PhD in physics from Columbia University, has published research papers in high-energy particles physics and solar astronomy, and has served as a teaching professor of physics at two liberal-arts colleges. He is a member of the West Wind Unitarian Universalist Congregation in Norman, OK and served as treasurer of the former Norman Unitarian Universalist Fellowship for two years. His interest in community radio stems from his travels across the United States, noticing that the radio stations play the same music, the same sports, the same Christian programming, the same talking heads everywhere that he drives. There must be a way for individual voices and communities to have their own little pieces of the American radio spectrum, and KVOY works to fulfill this need.


Susan Cogan

Evan Stair is an Electrical Engineer providing support for Air Traffic Control Communication Systems with the Arctic Slope Regional Corporation. In addition to ASRC, he has telecommunications and radio experience with Logix Communications, WorldCom, and Oklahoma Gas & Electric. He is Vice President of the Northern Flyer Alliance, a group advocating for Amtrak expansion in Oklahoma and Kansas.


comments icon 1 comment

One thought on “Board of Directors

  • Kurt T. Bachmann teaches physics at the Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics. He has worked as a PhD researcher and as a college professor during his professional career in several locations in the United States. He has been a Unitarian Universalist (UU) all of his life and for the past ten years in Norman. He served as Treasurer of the Norman UU Fellowship for two years.


Write a comment...